Skip to content

Aug. 22 – Labor Day, Sept. 2, 2024

120 Days 9 Hours 34 Mins

Sheep

2024 Sheep

All information is subject to change. To get the latest State Fair competition news in your inbox, join our email list.

Registration

Registration closes at 4:30 p.m. on the dates below, or earlier if barn capacity is reached.

  • Opens: Monday, June 24
  • Mail-in Entry Deadline: Must be received by Monday, July 29, at 4:30 p.m.
  • Online Entry Deadline: Wednesday, July 31, at 4:30 p.m.

Entry Lists

Links will be posted as information becomes available.

  • First Half Breeds
  • Second Half Breeds
  • Special Contests & Lamb Lead

Judges

  • Evan Snyder, Atglen, Pa.
    • All Other Hair Breeds, All Other Meat Breeds, All Other Wool Breeds, Border Cheviot, Columbia, Corriedale, Lincoln, Montadale and Rambouillet
  • Gary Saylor, Belle Center, Ohio
    • Babydoll Southdown, Dorset, Hampshire, Southdown and Suffolk
  • Brittany Alf, Janesville, Wis., Justin Fruechte, Ward, S.D., and Becca Wilts, St. Michael, Minn. 
    • Lamb Lead

Arrival & Departure Window

Arrival:

  • Wool Breeds – Wednesday, Aug. 21, 8 a.m. to Thursday, Aug. 22, 8 a.m.
  • Meat Breeds – Monday, Aug. 26, 4 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Departure:

  • Wool Breeds – Sunday, Aug. 25, 1-5:30 p.m.
  • Meat Breeds – Thursday, Aug. 29, 1-5 p.m.

SCHEDULE

All show times approximate, shows will run consecutively.

Thursday, Aug. 22 • Sheep Barn

  • 5 p.m. – Lamb Lead

Friday, Aug. 23 • Sheep Barn

  • 8:30 a.m. – P.A. Anderson Challenge
  • 9 a.m. – Rambouillet
  • 11 a.m. – Columbia
  • 1 p.m. – Montadale
  • 3 p.m. – Lincoln

Saturday, Aug. 24 • Sheep Barn

  • Noon – Corriedale
  • 1 p.m. – Border Cheviot
  • 3 p.m. – All Other Hair Breeds
  • 4 p.m. – All Other Wool Breeds
  • 5 p.m. – All Other Meat Breeds
  • 7 p.m. – Supreme Champion Ram and Ewe

Sunday, Aug. 25 • Sheep Barn

  • 10 a.m. – Dress A Sheep Contest

Tuesday, Aug. 27 • Sheep Barn

  • 8:30 a.m. – P.A. Anderson Challenge
  • 9 a.m. – Hampshire
  • 1 p.m. – Suffolk
  • 3 p.m. – Babydoll Southdown

Wednesday, Aug. 28 • Sheep Barn

  • 8:30 a.m. – Southdown
  • Noon – Dorset
  • 3 p.m. – Supreme Champion Ram and Ewe

Results

More Information

For further information, please contact competition@mnstatefair.org or 651-288-4417.